914 W. Main St., Grafton, WV 26354 • Ph: 304-265-3333 • Fax: 304-265-3342
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Sports Obits Photos Home 

Helmick & Peters land Second-Team, All-Big Ten Conference football honors

Posted: Monday, Nov 19th, 2012

GRAFTON -- The Mountain Statesman recently learned that guard Ryan Helmick and tight end Thomas Peters of the Grafton High School Football Team landed Second-Team, All-Big Ten Conference honors.

Helmick was a senior two-way lineman, who recorded a total of 31 solo tackles this season. He also recovered a fumble in the end zone for a touchdown against Weir.

Helmick was a two-year starter for the Bearcats.

Peters was a senior wing back/tight end, who caught a team-high total of 25 passes for 315 yards and one touchdown this fall. He caught at least one pass in nine of Grafton’s ten games.

Coach Mark Yoho’s Bearcats wound up with a 2-8 overall record, as well as, a 1-5 mark against Big Ten Conference competition.

Eddie Vincent of Lewis County was selected by his peers as the Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year, while Isaiah Hill of Robert C. Byrd was chosen as the Big Ten Conference Player of the Year.

Lewis County’s running back Caleb Butcher and Bridgeport’s linebacker Cameron Stanley were named as the offensive and defensive team captains, respectively.

Here is a complete list of the 2012 All-Big Ten Conference honorees:


Quarterback -- Jarrod Kellar of Lincoln

Running Backs -- Team Captain Caleb Butcher of Lewis County; Ben D’Annunzio of Robert C. Byrd; and L. J. Lawrence of Elkins.

Ends -- Collin Wright of Bridgeport; Dillon O’Dell of Lincoln; and Mason Compton of Robert C. Byrd.

Tackles -- Devin Collins of Elkins; and Joseph Butcher of Lewis County.

Guards -- Isaiah Holyfield of Robert C. Byrd; and Vincent Delligatti of Fairmont West.

Center -- Hunter Renquist of Bridgeport.

Kicker -- Scott Levine of Robert C. Byrd.



Linemen -- Teague Wagner of Robert C. Byrd; Andrew Summers of Fairmont West; Wilson Harvey of Lewis County; and Troy Anderson of Bridgeport.

Linebackers -- Team Captain Cameron Stanley of Bridgeport; Jermodd Garrett of Robert C. Byrd; Luke Hrapchak of East Fairmont; and Mark Metzgar of Lewis County.

Secondary -- Ty Noss of Liberty; Brett Hathaway of Bridgeport; Nick Martin of Elkins; and Al Johnson of Philip Barbour.

Punter -- Tyler Scheifelbein of Philip Barbour.



Quarterback -- Aaron Taylor of Robert C. Byrd.

Running Backs -- Clayton Collett of Elkins; Seth Cutright of Buckhannon-Upshur; and Cory Goldstrom of Preston.

Ends -- Thomas Peters of Grafton; Ty Seibel of Lincoln; and Chase Banker of North Marion.

Tackles -- Logan Bowman of East Fairmont; and Justin Noble of Robert C. Byrd.

Guards -- Ryan Helmick of Grafton; and Tim Rinehart of Lewis County.

Center -- Cody Blaney of Preston..

Kicker -- Dylan Leary of North Marion.



Linemen -- Keith Richison of Bridgeport; Christopher Leonard of East Fairmont; Shawn Cain of Elkins; and Daquan Hilson of Fairmont West.

Linebackers -- Derek Clem of Lewis County; Jimmy Pumphrey of Liberty; Tyler Marks of Bridgeport; and Garrett Onderko of East Fairmont.

Secondary -- Tre Cox of Robert C. Byrd; Dylan Newman of Philip Barbour; Skylar Carlton of Lewis County; and Anthony Caldero of Bridgeport.

Punter -- Mitchell Thrift of Preston.

Select Page:




Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal