914 W. Main St., Grafton, WV 26354 • Ph: 304-265-3333 • Fax: 304-265-3342
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Sports Obits Photos Home 

Unofficial General Election results from Tuesday

Posted: Friday, Nov 9th, 2012

John Bord

GRAFTON – The final numbers from Tuesday’s General Election in Taylor County came into the Mountain Statesman at 12:10 a.m. Wednesday. The following results are not official, as canvassing of the Taylor County ballots will be done on Tuesday.

The Presidential race saw Democrat Barack Obama gain another four-year term after defeating Republican Mitt Romney. Although Romney carried West Virginia with 62% of the vote, Obama carried the nation with both the popular and electoral vote. According to the Associated Press, Romney received 412,406 votes to Obama’s 234,985.

Taylor County residents voted 64% for Romney with 3,827 votes and 32% for Obama with 1,933 votes.

Obama garnered 303 electoral votes to Romney’s 206, and Obama’s 59,634,109 popular vote total defeated Romney’s 57,005,600.

Democrat Joe Manchin, III was re-elected to his United State Senate seat after garnering 61% of the state vote. Manchin defeated Republican John Raese by 394,532 to 237,825. Taylor County voters gave Manchin 56% of their respective votes with 3,342. Raese garnered 2,412 Taylor county votes, while Mountain Party candidate Bob Henry Baber received 141.

The West Virginia Governor’s race saw Democrat Earl Ray Tomblin receive 51% of the state vote with 330,274, narrowly defeating Republican Bill Maloney. Maloney carried Taylor County by a slim margin, with 2,961 votes to Tomblin’s 2,743. Mountain Party candidate Jesse Johnson received 86 votes, while Libertarian candidate David Moran got 98 votes.

Republican David B. McKinley was re-elected for the United States House of Representatives 1st Congressional District gaining 62% of the West Virginia vote. McKinley received 130,783 votes to his Democratic challenger Sue Thorn’s 78,474.

Taylor County voters gave McKinley 63% of their votes with 3,619, to Thorn’s 2,088.

Democrat Natalie E. Tennant gained re-election as West Virginia’s Secretary of State by garnering 62% of the state’s vote. Tennant received 393,264 state votes to Republican Brian Savilla’s 237,097. Taylor County voters also chose Tennant with 67%. Taylor County voters gave Tennant 3,932 votes to Savilla’s 1,853.

Democrat Glen B. Gainer, III carried 57% of the state vote for West Virginia Auditor. Gainer received 351,050 to his Republican challenger, Larry Faircloth’s 260,615. Taylor County voters gave Gainer 3,337 votes to defeat Faircloth’s 2,276.

West Virginia Treasurer, Democrat John D. Perdue was re-elected with 55% of the state vote. Perdue received 343,797 votes to his Republican challenger, Mike Hall’s 276,817. Taylor County voters gave Perdue 3,380 votes to Hall’s 2,273.

West Virginia Commissioner of Agriculture went to Democrat Walt Helmick with 52% of the state vote. Helmick narrowly edged out Republican Kent Leonhardt by a 312,745 to 293,185 vote. Taylor County voters chose Leonhardt with 56%. Leonhardt gained 3,142 Taylor County votes to Helmick’s 2,427.

Republican Patrick Morrisey narrowly defeated Democratic incumbent Darrell V. McGraw, Jr., with 51% of the state vote. Morrisey garnered 325,752 votes to McGraw’s 309,738. Taylor County voters chose Morrisey, as well, with an extremely close 2,913 to 2,844 tally.

The West Virginia Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals race saw Democrat Robin Jean Davis and Republican Allen Loughry elected over Republican John Yoder and Democrat Letitia “Tish” Chafin. Davis received 291,091 state votes; Loughry received 280,918 votes; Yoder garnered 254,957 votes; and Chafin got 245,001 votes. Taylor County voters gave Loughry 2,779 votes; Davis 2,531 votes; Yoder 2,121 votes; and Chafin 2,174 votes.

West Virginia State Senator for the 14th Senatorial District, Democrat Bob Williams ran unopposed and received 4,464 Taylor County votes.

Democrat Mike Manypenny narrowly defeated his Republican challenger, Jeff Tansill by gaining 53% of the district vote in the West Virginia House of Delegates 49th District. Manypenny garnered 3,438 total votes to Tansill’s 3,036. In Taylor County’s 19 precincts, Manypenny gained 2,786 votes to Tansill’s 2,564.

For the West Virginia House of Delegate 48th District, Republican Danny Hamrick defeated long-time delegate Democrat Ron Fragale. Democrat Tim Miley received 13,227 state votes; Democrat Richard Iaquinta gained 12,555 votes; Democrat Samuel J. “Sam” Cann received 12,225 votes; Hamrick gained 12,003 votes; Fragale received 11,802 votes; Republican Diana Bartley received 9,640 votes; Republican Terry Woodside garnered 9,355 votes; and Republican Ed “Buddy” Randolph received 8,087 votes. Taylor county voters gave Woodside 195 votes; Hamrick 193 votes; Randolph 170 votes; Bartley 181 votes; Cann 165 votes; Iaquinta 152 votes; Fragale 141 votes; and Miley 161 votes. The 48th District will be represented by Miley, Iaquinta, Cann, and Hamrick.

Taylor County Commissioner, Democrat David “Rusty” Efaw ran unopposed and garnered 4,523 votes.

Taylor County Prosecuting Attorney, Republican John L. Bord defeated his Democratic challenger, LaVerne Sweeney by gaining 3,269 votes to Swenney’s 2,457.

Democrat Terring W. Skinner ran unopposed for Taylor County Sheriff, and garnered 4,615 votes.

Taylor County Assessor, Democrat Judith L. Collet ran unopposed and gained 3,571 votes. Her former challenger, Republican Lorraine Isner had withdrawn from the race, but her name still appeared on the ballot. Isner gained 2,088 votes.

Taylor County Magistrates, Democrats Leonard Lucas and Rick Reese, both ran unopposed for Taylor County Magistrate positions. Lucas gained 3,816 votes, while Reese received 3,811.

Taylor County voters rejected the Repeal of the Two Consecutive Term Limitation for Sheriff. Taylor County voters cast 2,811 votes against the amendment, and 2,307 votes for it.

The Taylor County Extension Levy failed to pass with 2,788 against it and 2,485 for it.

Taylor County voters, voting a straight party ticket were Republican 707; Democrat 612; Mountain 11; and Libertarian 34.

Taylor County has 10,504 registered voters, of which, 5,997 cast ballots for a percentage of 57.

Select Page:




Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal