914 W. Main St., Grafton, WV 26354 • Ph: 304-265-3333 • Fax: 304-265-3342
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Sports Obits Photos Home 

Get out and Vote!

Posted: Monday, Nov 5th, 2012

Taylor County Clerk Georgianna Thompson is shown above with a sample paper ballot for tomorrow’s election. “I can’t show you a paper roll out of the electronic voting machine, because they are sealed,” noted Thompson. She has been working hand-in-hand with the Secretary of State’s Office and the Taylor County Commission to make sure Taylor County is prepared for tomorrow’s election. Thompson reminds voters that they have two options in Taylor County on how to cast their vote during tomorrow’s election, the electronic voting machines or the optic scan paper ballot. Both voting methods provide paper trails for election officials to use in verifying the election.

GRAFTON – Tomorrow, Nov. 6, is Election Day, and the Mountain Statesman is encouraging every Taylor County registered voter to get out and vote.

No matter what your beliefs, no matter what your party affiliation, it is your right and duty to get out and vote.

In the wake of Superstorm Sandy, there have been some questions concerning the access of Taylor County precincts.

During an interview with Taylor County Clerk Georgianna Thompson Friday morning, Thompson noted that the Secretary of State Natalie Tennant’s office has clarified that the “Federal Election must go on.”

Thompson had addressed her concerns of being prepared for tomorrow’s election during last Tuesday’s Taylor County Commission meeting.

During that meeting the commission discussed their options, as to which was the best way to handle precinct issues if troubles should arise.

Thompson advised the commission that she had notified Tennant’s office that Taylor County was using both electronic voting machines, as well as, scanned paper ballots. The commission agreed that if there was not power in the polling places, that paper ballots could be used.

Thompson cautioned the commission that there are standards that have to be met concerning the health and safety of poll workers, to which she expressed that she did not feel right having poll workers manning polls in building without adequate heat, lighting and other necessities.

Thompson further advised that during her discussion with Tennant’s office, that the Secretary of State had given the option of moving poll locations in an emergency situation. With continued power outages caused by Hurricane Sandy, this discussion led to the decision made by the commission Friday morning concerning the possibility of moving three Taylor County precincts.

Thompson noted that as of Friday morning, no precincts have been moved. She continued to specify that if precincts had to be moved, the decision would be made today, Monday, Nov. 5.

She further specified that if the precincts have to be moved, that she would notify the Mountain Statesman, which will publish the change on its website, www.mountainstatesman.com, and on its Facebook page.

She went on to note that she would also be notifying both local television stations of the change.

Thompson noted that she had received notification from the power company declaring that power was to be on in all of Taylor County no later than Sunday.

“I don’t think we are going to have any issues with electric still being out, but if so, we have a plan in place,” explained Thompson.

According to Taylor County Commission President, David “Rusty” Efaw, voting precincts 9 and 10 (Haymond Community Building), and precinct 11 (Thornton Fire Hall), may be moved to Anna Jarvis Elementary School if power is not restored to those areas by Tuesday. Supplies will be delivered to these precincts on Monday, and if these precincts are unable to be opened, there will be a person stationed there to advise voters on Tuesday.

The polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. Tuesday.

The Taylor County precinct locations are: Precinct 1, West Taylor Elementary School; Precinct 2, Taylor County Middle School; Precinct 3, Boothsville Fire Department (Bingo Building); Precinct 4, Calvary Baptist Church; Precinct 5, West Taylor Elementary School; Precinct 6, Taylor County Senior Citizens Building; Precinct 9, Haymond Community Building; Precinct 10, Haymond Community Building; Precinct 11, Thornton Fire Hall; Precinct 12, Anna Jarvis Elementary School; Precinct 14, Fetterman Methodist Church; Precinct 17, Flemington Elementary School; Precinct 19, Bailey Methodist Church; Precinct 23, Grafton City Building; Precinct 25, Grafton Motel; Precinct 26, Calvary Apostolic Church, Front Street, Grafton; Precinct 29, Grafton High School; Precinct 31, Taylor County Library (Second Floor);and Precinct 36, Paradise Cove Community Building.

Sample ballots for the General Election can be found on page B5 of this edition of the Mountain Statesman.

On the National Ticket for President of the United States of America are: Mitt Romney, Republican; Barrack Obama, Democrat; Jill Stien, Mountain; Gary Johnson, Libertarian; and Randall Terry, NA. For United States Senator: John R. Rease, Republican; Joe Manchin, III, Democrat; and Bob Henry Baber, Mountain. For the United States House of Representatives: David B. McKinley, Republican; and Sue Thorn, Democrat.

On the West Virginia State Ticket for Governor: Bill Maloney, Republican; Earl Ray Tomblin, Democrat; Jesse Johnson, Mountain; and David Moran, Libertarian. For Secretary of State: Brian Savilla, Republican; and Natalie E. Tennant, Democrat. For Auditor: Larry V. Faircloth, Republican; and Glen B. Gainer, III, Democrat. For Treasurer: Mike Hall, Republican; and John D. Perdue, Democrat. For Commission of Agriculture: Kent Leonhardt, Republican; and Walt Helmick, Democrat. For Attorney General: Patrick Morrisey, Republican; and Darrell V. McGraw, Jr., Democrat. For Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals: Allen Loughry, Republican; John Yoder, Republican; Robin Jean Davis, Democrat; and Letitia “Tish” Chafin, Democrat.

For West Virginia State Senator: Bob Williams, Democrat. For the House of Delegates (48th District): Terry Woodside, Republican; Danny Hamrick, Republican; Ed “Buddy” Randolph, Republican; Diana Bartley, Republican; Samuel J. “Sam” Cann, Democrat; Richard J. Iaquenta, Democrat; Ron Fragale, Democrat; and Tim Miley, Democrat. For the House of Delegates (49th District): Jeff Tansill, Republican; and Mike Manypenny, Democrat.

On the Taylor County Ticket for Taylor County Commission: David “Rusty” Efaw, Democrat. For Prosecuting Attorney: John L. Bord, Republican; and Laverne Sweeney, Democrat. For Taylor County Sheriff: Terring W. Skinner, Democrat. For Taylor County Assessor: Lorraine Isner, Republican; and Judith L. Collett, Democrat. It is important to note that Lorraine Isner has withdrawn from the Taylor County Assessor’s race, although her name still appears on the ticket.

On the State Ticket, for Taylor County Magistrate: Leonard Lucas, Democrat; and Rick Reese, Democrat.

Also on the ballot is a Constitutional Amendment to Repeal the Two Consecutive Term Limitation for Sheriff. The purpose of this amendment is to repeal section three, article IX of the State Constitution which provides that a person who has been elected, or who has served as a sheriff during all, or any part of two consecutive terms, shall be ineligible for the office of sheriff during any part of the term immediately following the second of two consecutive terms.

One levy is on the ballot Tuesday. The Taylor County WVU Extension Office is seeking additional support, through a levy for 4-H Youth Development; Agriculture and Natural Resources; Families and Health; and Community and Economic Development programs.

Select Page:




Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal